Daytona Beach Personal Injury Lawyers
Free Consultations 386.258.1622
Fighting For The Full Recovery You Are Owed

Motor Vehicle Negligence – Car Accidents

If you are involved in a car accident in Florida that involves physical injuries or significant property damage, you will likely be confronted by a variety of legal issues, many of them involving Florida motor vehicle insurance law. The Daytona Beach car accident lawyers at Sands, White & Sands are skilled at helping clients navigate the maze of these laws, all while working to protect their legal rights and maximize their potential recovery.

If you or a loved one has been injured as a result of someone else’s negligence, reach out to our team today to find out how we can help. No matter how complicated your situation may be, we are prepared to fight for the full, fair recovery you are owed. We take the time to understand your unique needs and can create a legal strategy tailored to your goals.

Call (386) 258-1622 or fill out an online contact form to request a no-cost consultation with our team today.

What You Need to Know after an Accident

We believe that there are three basic questions that everyone driving a car—or a truck or motorcycle, for that matter—in Florida should be able to answer.

What motor vehicle insurance am I required to own?

When we speak to new clients, we often find that they are uncertain about what motor vehicle insurance they actually own. The client may have simply accepted an insurance agent’s recommendations or just asked for the minimum coverage necessary. Your motor vehicle insurance is expensive and potentially very important to you, so it is worthwhile to periodically review your coverage to determine whether it is necessary and sufficient. Florida motorists are required to carry PIP (Personal Injury Protection) insurance, which provides up to $10,000 to the policy owner and other enumerated individuals.

What additional motor vehicle insurance should I own?

The required insurance coverage discussed above is just the bare minimum that is mandatory under Florida law. This coverage is by no means adequate or desirable to protect you from liability to others or to protect you in case you are injured by a driver who is uninsured or underinsured. It is strongly recommended that you also carry comprehensive, collision, and gap insurance to make up for losses that the most basic insurance does not cover. It is also wise to carry BI (Bodily Liability) insurance and UIM (Underinsured/Uninsured Motorist) insurance, as well as medical payments insurance.

What steps should I take to protect my legal rights after an accident?

There are several steps you should take to protect your legal rights following an accident. These steps are necessary to help preserve evidence and your right to recover damages for your injuries and for damage to your vehicle. First, it is important that you call a police officer to the scene. This allows you to document what occurred in an official police report. You should also seek medical treatment, even if you believe you were not severely injured. It is important that you do this quickly, as you can only qualify for PIP benefits if you seek treatment within 14 days of the incident. You should also document the accident (if possible), notify your insurer, and avoid talking to other insurance companies until you have consulted an attorney.

Comparative Negligence in Florida

Florida has what is known as the Pure Comparative Negligence Law. Under this law, both parties in an accident may be considered partially at fault. The at-fault percentage directly affects a party’s ability to recover damages. For example, say you are involved in a car accident and suffer $10,000 in damages. However, the jury in your case determines that, even though the other driver was mostly at fault for the accident, you were still 30% at fault. As a result, you are only entitled to 70% of your recovery, or $7,000.

Proving fault can be incredibly difficult; it is important that you have an experienced Daytona Beach auto accident lawyer on your side who can help you navigate this process. At Sands, White & Sands, we have represented numerous clients who were seriously injured in automobile accidents. We have also helped the family members of those who suffered brain or spinal cord injuries, severe whiplash, and even death as a result of another motorist’s negligence.

The Limits of Florida's No-Fault Insurance Laws

Being a "no-fault" state means that a driver who is involved in an auto accident in Florida will go to their own insurance provider to recover compensation for their medical expenses and lost wages.

The benefit of "no-fault" insurance is that you can recover compensation from your policy regardless of who was at fault for the accident. The downside of "no-fault" insurance is that PIP only covers 80% of medical expenses and 60% of lost wages. If you purchased an insurance policy with a low limit or high deductible, you could be left to cover a large amount of the cost yourself.

Another downside of Florida's "no-fault" insurance laws is that you cannot file a claim against the negligent party unless you meet the "serious injury" requirement. An injury is considered "serious" if it involves significant disfigurement, broken bones, permanent damage, or substantial disability for 90 days.

With Florida's insurance laws being so complex, you need a strong advocate by your side who help you recover the maximum amount of compensation possible. Filing a car accident claim on your own could mean your insurance company offers a settlement that is less than you need to move on with your life.

Reach out to a Daytona Beach car accident lawyer from our team to request your free initial consultation. Call (386) 258-1622 or contact us online to get started. We serve clients throughout Volusia County and  Flagler County. 

Multi-Million Dollar Victories

Allowing Our Clients to Recover
  • $10,278,620 Verdict Workplace Injury
  • $7,650,000 Settlement Motor Vehicle Collision
  • $2,900,000 Verdict Medical Negligence
  • $1,505,820 Arbitration Verdict Medical Negligence
  • $1,400,000 Settlement Trucking Collision
  • $1,250,000 Settlement Product Liability
  • $1,057,385 Verdict Medical Negligence
  • $1,000,000 Settlement Product Liability
  • $750,000 Verdict Premise Liability
  • $450,000 Settlement Motor Vehicle Collision